The (Secret) City of London

London City and London are two distinct entities that are often used interchangeably but refer to different aspects of the same city.

London, also known as Greater London, is a region in England that encompasses the city itself along with the surrounding areas. It is the capital city of the United Kingdom and a global hub for finance, culture, and commerce. London is home to numerous iconic landmarks, including the Tower of London, Buckingham Palace, and the British Museum. It has a population of over 9 million people and covers an area of around 1,572 square kilometers.

On the other hand, London City, also known as the City of London or the Square Mile, refers to the historic and financial center of London. It is the oldest part of the city, founded by the Romans in the first century AD. The City of London is known for its high concentration of financial institutions, including the Bank of England and the London Stock Exchange. It covers a smaller area of approximately 2.9 square kilometers and has a population of around 8,000 people, primarily consisting of workers and residents.

The City of London has its own unique governance, separate from the Greater London Authority that governs the wider region. It retains its medieval street pattern, which contrasts with the modern architecture found in other parts of London.

In summary, while London refers to the larger metropolitan region encompassing the city and its surrounding areas, London City specifically refers to the historic and financial center within the city.